GULF Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM)

Tabs group

Program Overview
GULF Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM)

The GULF Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM) Certification Scheme is a regional approach to fisheries certification based on internationally-accepted principles set by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO). GULF RFM was created at the request of US Gulf of Mexico seafood stakeholders to demonstrate the responsible practices of Gulf fisheries and provide greater access to sustainability for the region’s fishing industry. Key features of the program include:

  1. Voluntary, third-party certification
  2. Delivers a claim of "responsible fisheries management for sustainable use" according to FAO principles
  3. Measures the effectiveness of fisheries management against biological, ecological, and socio-economic criteria
  4. Seeks maximum stakeholder input to assure inclusiveness and credibility
  5. Accredited certification in conformance with ISO/IEC 17065 6. Recognized by GSSI
Certified Businesses
Certification Criteria

The Standard is comprised of five sections derived from the FAO documents that measure the effectiveness of:

A. The Fisheries Management System

B. Data Collection, Stock Assessment and Scientific Advice

C. Management Objectives for the Stock

D. The Precautionary Approach

E. Mitigation of Serious Impacts of the Fishery on the Ecosystem


Chain of Custody

Those wishing to supply products bearing a certification claim must complete an application form for Chain of Custody certification and must be able to demonstrate effective traceability and have systems in place to ensure that the certified seafood product is not mixed with non-certified seafood.


Certification Body

Global Trust Certification (GTC) provides certification services for the GULF RFM Scheme.